Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



The wife upstairs  Cover Image Book Book

The wife upstairs

Summary

Summary: "A delicious twist on a Gothic classic, Rachel Hawkins' The Wife Upstairs pairs Southern charm with atmospheric domestic suspense, perfect for fans of B.A. Paris and Megan Miranda. Meet Jane. Newly arrived to Birmingham, Alabama, Jane is a broke dog-walker in Thornfield Estates--a gated community full of McMansions, shiny SUVs, and bored housewives. The kind of place where no one will notice if Jane lifts the discarded tchotchkes and jewelry off the side tables of her well-heeled clients. Where no one will think to ask if Jane is her real name. But her luck changes when she meets Eddie Rochester. Recently widowed, Eddie is Thornfield Estates' most mysterious resident. His wife, Bea, drowned in a boating accident with her best friend, their bodies lost to the deep. Jane can't help but see an opportunity in Eddie--not only is he rich, brooding, and handsome, he could also offer her the kind of protection she's always yearned for. Yet as Jane and Eddie fall for each other, Jane is increasingly haunted by the legend of Bea, an ambitious beauty with a rags-to-riches origin story, who launched a wildly successful southern lifestyle brand. How can she, plain Jane, ever measure up? And can she win Eddie's heart before her past--or his--catches up to her? With delicious suspense, incisive wit, and a fresh, feminist sensibility, The Wife Upstairs flips the script on a timeless tale of forbidden romance, ill-advised attraction, and a wife who just won't stay buried. In this vivid reimagining of one of literature's most twisted love triangles, which Mrs. Rochester will get her happy ending?"--

Item details

  • ISBN: 9781250245519
  • ISBN: 9781250276100
  • ISBN: 1250245494
  • ISBN: 9781250245496
  • Physical Description: 290 pages ; 25 cm
    print
  • Edition: First edition.
  • Publisher: New York : St. Martin's Press, 2021.
Subject: Widowers Fiction
Dog walking Fiction
Community life Fiction
Widowers
Gated communities
Dog walking
FICTION / Women
FICTION / Thrillers / Domestic
FICTION / Thrillers / Suspense
Widowers Fiction
Dog walking Fiction
Gated communities Fiction
Genre: Romance fiction.
Thrillers (Fiction)
Love stories.
Romance fiction.
Suspense fiction.

Currently available copies

  • 56 / 121 copies available at PINES

Holds

  • 9 current holds
Library System: Library Branch Name
Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status  
Athens Regional Library System:
      Athens-Clarke County Library
FIC HAWKINS
Send SMS Text
31001003979904 NEW-BKS Checked out
Athens Regional Library System:
      Bogart Library
FIC HAWKINS
Send SMS Text
31001003979946 FICTION In transit
Athens Regional Library System:
      Lavonia Carnegie Library
FIC HAWKINS
Send SMS Text
31001003979938 FICTION Checked out
Athens Regional Library System:
      Royston Library
FIC HAWKINS
Send SMS Text
31001003979920 FICTION On holds shelf
Athens Regional Library System:
      Watkinsville/Oconee County Library
FIC HAWKINS
Send SMS Text
31001003979912 NEW-BKS Checked out
Athens Regional Library System:
      Winterville Library
FIC HAWKINS
Send SMS Text
31001003979953 FICTION Reshelving
Azalea Regional Library System:
      Greene County Public Library
F HAW
Send SMS Text
31056008839974 ADULT Available
Azalea Regional Library System:
      Monroe-Walton County Library
F HAW
Send SMS Text
31056008839792 ADULT In transit
Azalea Regional Library System:
      Morgan County Library
F HAW
Send SMS Text
31056008831401 ADULT Available
Azalea Regional Library System:
      O'Kelly Memorial Library
F HAW
Send SMS Text
31056008828670 ADULT Available
Next 10 »


Additional Resources