Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search

Search Results filters

Filtered by:


How the boogeyman became a poet  Cover Image Book Book

How the boogeyman became a poet

Keith, Tony Jr (author.).

Summary: Poet, writer, and hip-hop educator Tony Keith Jr. makes his debut with a powerful YA memoir in verse, tracing his journey from being a closeted gay Black teen battling poverty, racism, and homophobia to becoming an openly gay first-generation college student who finds freedom in poetry. Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, George M. Johnson, and Jacqueline Woodson.Tony dreams about life after high school, where his poetic voice can find freedom on the stage and page. But the Boogeyman has been following Tony since he was six years old. First, the Boogeyman was after his Blackness, but Tony has learned It knows more than that: Tony wants to be the first in his family to attend college, but there's no path to follow. He also has feelings for boys, desires that don't align with the script he thinks is set for him and his girlfriend, Blu. Despite a supportive network of family and friends, Tony doesn't breathe a word to anyone about his feelings. As he grapples with his sexuality and moves from high school to college, he struggles with loneliness while finding solace in gay chat rooms and writing poetry. But how do you find your poetic voice when you are hiding the most important parts of yourself? And how do you escape the Boogeyman when it's lurking inside you?

Item details

  • ISBN: 0063296004
  • ISBN: 9780063296008
  • Physical Description: 343 pages : illustrations ; 22 cm
    print
  • Edition: First edition.
  • Publisher: New York : Katherine Tegen Books, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers, [2024]

Contents / Notes

Target Audience Note:
14-17.
Subject: Keith, Tony Jr Juvenile literature
Poets Biography Juvenile literature
Gay men Biography Juvenile literature
Men, Black Biography Juvenile literature
Poets Biography
Gay men Biography
Men, Black Biography
Keith, Anthony R Jr
Poets
Gay men
Black people Biography
Poètes Biographies Ouvrages pour la jeunesse
Hommes noirs Biographies Ouvrages pour la jeunesse
Poètes Biographies
Hommes noirs Biographies
Gay men
Gay youth
Poets Biography
Gay men Biography
Genre: Poésie.
Autobiographies.
Poetry.
Autobiographies.
poetry.
autobiographies (literary works)
Young adult literature.

Currently available copies

  • 17 out of 17 copies are currently available at PINES.

Holds

  • 0 current holds on 17 total copies.
Sort by distance from:
Show Only Available Copies
Library System: Library Branch Name
Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status  
Azalea Regional Library System:
      Morgan County Library
Y KEI ( Send Text)
31056009356168 YA Available
Catoosa County Library System:
      Catoosa County Library
YA 811.6 KEITH, TONY JR. ( Send Text)
31687002745260 YA NON-FICTION Available
Coastal Plain Regional Library System:
      Tifton-Tift County Public Library
YA KEITH, ANTHONY ( Send Text)
31013002213672 YA Fiction Available
Coastal Plain Regional Library System:
      Victoria Evans Memorial Library
YA KEITH, ANTHONY ( Send Text)
31013002234413 YA Fiction Available
Dougherty County Public Library:
      Southside Branch
B KEITH KEITH, ANTHONY R ( Send Text)
31018905308784 BIOGRAPHY Available
Jefferson County Library:
      Louisville Public Library
YA B KEITH ( Send Text)
31029005537818 YA Available
Jefferson County Library:
      McCollum Public Library
YA B KEITH ( Send Text)
31029005537792 YA Available
Jefferson County Library:
      Wadley Public Library
YA B KEITH ( Send Text)
31029005537800 YA Available
Live Oak Public Libraries:
      Bull St. Library
YA 811.6 KEIT ( Send Text)
21008000100352 BULL SECOND FLOOR Available
Live Oak Public Libraries:
      Hinesville Library
YA 811.6 KEIT ( Send Text)
21008000100360 NEW Available


Additional Resources